Anaesthesia Montage

The NHG-AHPL Anaesthesiology Residency Program is designed to provide an unparalleled educational experience. The vast resources of both Tan Tock Seng and Khoo Teck Puat Hospitals create a supportive environment in which our residents learn to care for a diverse and medically challenging patient population. Under the mentorship of its dedicated teaching faculty, we train our residents to become competent specialists and future leaders in the field of Anaesthesiology.

Our institutions have traditionally excelled in Neuroanaesthesia, Trauma Anaesthesia, Intensive Care Medicine and Pain Medicine. We are constantly leading developments in Preoperative Assessment, Regional Anaesthesia as well as the use of Information Technology in our operating theatres and intensive care units. By collaborating closely with other sponsoring institutions, our residents are provided with every opportunity to train in the complete spectrum of anaesthesiology sub-specialties.

The commitment of our teaching faculty to training and education, coupled with a rigorous academic teaching program will provide our residents with a comprehensive learning experience necessary to acquire the knowledge, skills and attributes required of a specialist in Anaesthesiology and to successfully pass all requisite specialist examinations.


The NHG-AHPL Residency Program offers a 5-year program in Anaesthesiology.

The first year of Residency training is geared towards laying a strong foundation in the basic principles of Anaesthesiology. This includes a 1 month-long Orientation that provides incoming residents with one-on-one teaching by a dedicated faculty member in the operating theatre, daily didactic lectures as well as interactive workshops followed by 3 months of Foundation training in airway and technical skills, knowledge of basic sciences and the care of a patient in the peri-operative environment.

The second & third years of Residency will incorporate clinical modular training and relevant elective postings to develop an appreciation of the various sub-specialty practices in Anaesthesiology.

The last 2 years of Residency (Fellowship years) will allow ample opportunities to develop an independent style of practice and pursue individualised clinical and research interests.

A sample rotation chart for our resident is illustrated below:

Anaes Rotation Block

Sample Chart for illustration only; actual rotations may vary. Annual Leave not reflected above.

In additional to a comprehensive range of teaching activities, our residents are also encouraged to participate in relevant courses and conferences to keep abreast of developments in modern day evidence-based anaesthesia. All residents in NHG-AHPL Residency will also attend courses defined by its Common Core Curriculum to ensure their holistic development as physicians.

Anaes Core Competencies

 Regular formative assessments matched to the ACGME Core Competencies will be carried out to ensure the systematic progression of our residents.

Anaes Assessment Tools

Faculty Members           


Designation and Department

Program Director:


Dr Roy Kan

Roy Kan

Consultant, Anaesthesiology, TTSH

Dr Roy Kan is currently a consultant in the Department of Anaesthesiology, TTSH.

Dr Kan graduated from the National University of Singapore in 1998 and obtained his Masters of Medicine (Anaesthesiology) in 2005. He completed a fellowship in cardio-thoracic-vascular anaesthesia and trans-esophageal echocardiography at the Johns Hopkins Hospital, USA in 2008. Dr Kan is actively involved in undergraduate and postgraduate teaching and is a member of the Training and Education sub-committee of the Anaesthesia Specialty Training Committee.

In his spare time, he enjoys spending time with his two young sons.

Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH)


Associate Program Director:


Dr Chong Chin Ted

Consultant, Anaesthesiology

Core Faculty:


Dr See Jee Jian

Consultant, Anaesthesiology

Dr Jonathan Tan

Consultant, Anaesthesiology

Khoo Teck Puat Hospital (KTPH)


Associate Program Director:


Dr Iyer Uma Shridhar

Consultant, Anaesthesiology

Core Faculty:


A/P Koh Kwong Fah

Senior Consultant, Anaesthesiology

Dr Edwin Seet

Consultant, Anaesthesiology

For further information, please contact:      

To find out more about the Residency application process, please refer to the MOHH Residency website at http://www.physician.mohh.com.sg/residency.

For more information on the NHG-AHPL Anaesthesiology Residency, please contact: 

Program Director    

Dr Roy Kan

Email: roy_kan@ttsh.com.sg

Program Coordinator    

Ms Rubi Ismail

Email: rubi_ismail@nhg.com.sg

Medical Student Opportunities     

For medical students who are keen to acquire an overview of Anaesthesiology and/or Intensive Care Medicine, we offer short clinical electives in the Department of Anaesthesiology, Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

These clinical electives will allow students appreciate the science and art of anaesthesiology and intensive care medicine by means of hands-on learning experience and close supervision, complemented by a lecture series designed just for medical students.

For more information on our medical student electives, please email:

Associate Program Director     

Dr Chong Chin Ted

Email: chin_ted_chong@ttsh.com.sg


Anaesthesiology Brochure  2013 Thumbnail

[Click on the image above to download the Anaesthesiology residency program brochure.]

NHG-AHPL Residency. Copyright 2010. Best viewed on Internet Explorer 6.0+ and Firefox 3.0+
All rights reserved. Read our Disclaimer.